Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press Room > News Releases > DBIA Announces 2012 Leadership
  • LinkedIn
  • Google
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Add to Favorites

Media Advisory
For Immediate Release:
1/17/2012 10:00 AM
Susan Hines
Director, Information and Public Relations
DBIA Announces 2012 Leadership
The Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA) is proud to announce that its 2012 Board of Directors. New board members and officers were installed during the DBIA annual membership luncheon held on October, 19, 2011, but officially took office on January 1, 2012.

The Board’s Executive Committee consists of Chairman Robert Nartonis, senior vice president with M.A. Mortenson Company of Brookfield, Wis.; Vice Chair Barbara Wagner, LEED® AP, senior vice president with Clark Construction Group – California, LP, of Costa Mesa, Calif.; Treasurer Jim L. Whitaker, AIA, DBIA, principal and senior vice president and director of federal and design-build with HKS, Inc., of Dallas, Texas; Immediate Past Chair Greg Gidez, AIA, DBIA, LEED AP, corporate design manager with Hensel Phelps Construction Co. of Greeley, Colo.; and Robynne Parkinson, Esq., DBIA, of the Law Offices of Robynne T. Parkinson, PLLC in Mercer Island, Wash.

Elected new to the Board in 2012 are William Quatman, Esq., FAIA, DBIA, general counsel, Burns & McDonnell Engineering Company, Kansas City, Mo.; Diana Hoag, DBIA, senior consultant, Xcelsi Group, Dayton, Ohio; Mark Konchar, Ph.D., DBIA, LEED AP, corporate vice president, national integration, Balfour Beatty Construction, Fairfax, Va.; J. Jacob Williams, assistant director, Los Angeles County Department of Public Works, Alhambra, Calif.; Peter Kinsley, DBIA, vice president – water, Haskell, Jacksonville, Fla.; and Patrick Crosby, president, Crosby Group, Redwood City, Calif.

Re-elected to an additional term were William Dean, president and CEO, M.C. Dean, Inc., Dulles, Va.; Rick Ford, DBIA, vice president, operations, ESCO Communications, Indianapolis, Ind.; and David Nash, president, Dave Nash and Associates, LLC, Hamilton, Va.;

Returning board members include John A. Martin, DBIA, division president, Texas Division Office, Flintco, Inc., Austin, Texas; Kim Lum, DBIA, LEED, president, Charles Pankow Builders, Ltd., Pasadena, Calif.; James Vander Heiden, AIA, P.E., vice president/principal, Hammel, Green and Abrahamson Inc., Milwaukee, Wis.; Jag R. Bhargava, P.E., PMP, CCM, DBIA, deputy director, U.S. General Services Administration, Washington, D.C.; and Praful M. Kulkarni, AIA, president and CEO, gkkworks, Irvine, Calif.

The DBIA Board of Directors is chosen from the DBIA membership which represents the entire range of those involved in design and construction – architects, engineers, contractors, lawyers, academics and project owners. All have expressed a commitment to advancing the industry through the advocacy of integrated project delivery techniques, and have demonstrated knowledge and expertise in design-build project delivery specifically.

DBIA welcomes the new Board and looks forward to incorporating their insights into our education, certification, and advocacy efforts. The increasing acceptance and use of design-build means that understanding best practices in the delivery method is more important now than ever before. Information on the Board, including complete biographies, can be found on the DBIA website,
Established in 1993, and based in Washington, D.C., the Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA) is the only organization that defines, teaches and promotes best practices in design-build project delivery. Learn more about design-build, and DBIA’s certification and other programs at