Skip Navigation LinksHome > Press Room > News Releases > Announcing the 2013 Design-Build Transportation Awards 130305
  • LinkedIn
  • Google
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Add to Favorites

Media Advisory
For Immediate Release:
3/5/2013 12:00 AM
Susan Hines
Director of Information and Public Relations
Announcing the 2013 Design-Build in Transportation Leadership Awards

DBIA honors the individuals and agencies that advance design-build project delivery.

The Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA) is pleased to announce the 2013 Design-Build in Transportation Leadership Awards. Each year DBIA recognizes the individuals and agencies that have advanced design-build project delivery within the transportation sector. The winners are selected by DBIA’s Transportation Committee from nominations received from across this manifold industry and will be honored on March 19 at the 2013 Design-Build in Transportation Conference in Orlando, Florida.
2013 Transportation Owner Award recipient Ananth Prasad was named Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) in April 2011 by Governor Rick Scott. He has been an outspoken advocate for streamlined and creative delivery mechanisms, while simultaneously working to improve the selection and procurement processes employed by the state. In 2012 alone, Secretary Prasad and the FDOT awarded 59 design-build contracts valued at $1.1 billion. Time and cost savings proved significant and design-build is now considered part of FDOT’s ongoing efforts to achieve efficiency while providing value to their constituency.
Roger A. Johnson, Deputy Executive Director of Los Angeles World Airports (LAWA), a department of the City of Los Angeles, is another 2013 Transportation Owner Award recipient. Mr. Johnson spent several years clearing hurdles to allow the City and LAWA to engage in its first design-build contracts. Over the past two years, the LAWA has awarded two design-build contracts. A new central utility plant at Los Angeles International Airport (LAX) will be completed under a design-build contract valued at approximately $270 million. A $300 million design-build contract that includes numerous improvements in all terminals at LAX is also underway as part of a $6 billion modernization of the airport. LAWA is planning additional design-build projects including a new mid-field concourse and several terminal in-fill projects valued at approximately $1 billion.
California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) is the 2013 Transportation Owner Agency of the Year recipient. The Department is actively pursuing design-build through a Design-Build Demonstration Program authorized by the state legislature in 2009. Eight projects have been selected for the program so far; the program may include up to ten projects. Of the eight projects, seven are currently under construction. The projects are varied and include rehabilitation work, roadway expansion and a bridge. Caltrans has also awarded a design-build-finance-operate-maintain contract for the Presidio Parkway as part of authority granted under California's public-private partnership legislation.
The 2013 Transportation Practitioner Award recipient is John Bourne, who has brought experience and expertise gleaned from years at the Utah DOT to over a decade of work for HNTB. From 1997 until 2002, Mr. Bourne served as Deputy Director and then Director of UDOT’s I-15 reconstruction program — a $1.6-billion design-build project that garnered numerous awards, including the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) President Leadership Award and the American Society of Civil Engineers’ Outstanding Project and Leadership Award. At HNTB, Mr. Bourne has a proven track record of assisting state DOTs, including those of Minnesota, Texas and Utah, develop design-build procurement strategies that provide best value for dollars spent. He recently served as HNTB’s project manager tasked with procuring and implementing UDOT’s first Fixed Price/Best Design procurement of the highly successful I-15 CORE PROJECT. This is only the second Fixed Price/Best Design procurement in the nation.